After some time…

The iMac is amazing. For sure. But it has it’s own set of quirks.

Since I received it I have been more playing than actually using it. Even then… I already saw my first applications hanging (the brand-new iTunes, while creating an “Intelligent” play list).

I also had my headaches for sharing the printer (now attached to the iMac) with the older XP laptop. If you ever need to share a printer from a mac (at least using OS X 10.4.x) you need to know two things:

  • Don’t use SMB (Windows) sharing for your printer. It might work, but it’s much, much easier to install Bonjour for windows.
  • If you can’t use Bonjour for whatever reason, you should install the shared printer as a Postscript-compatible printer (most laser printers, like those from Apple).

I found that sharing the printer through SMB makes all operations related to the printer much slower for my old XP laptop.

Another thing that annoys me a bit is the fact that my cheap scanner (from HP) does not integrate with the standard Image Capture tool… I must use the HP-specific software for scanning (but printing works fine out-of-the box).

Now I only have one thing pending… which is to find out if it is at all possible to have two sessions open in the iMac (one in the console and another using a network connection). Something like X-windows in the times when I used to run Linux (I know X is available on OS X, I just haven’t tried it yet).

Leaving these things aside, everything is great so far. I can rip my CDs in seconds, I’m already used to using the keyboard to eject the CDs afterwards, and having just one mouse button is not such a bad thing (yet, the reason why the second button works only on some apps escapes me). For replacing MS Office I have installed NeoOffice. For browsing, Flock.

As for the key bindings… I’m learning.

Blogged with Flock

Update:As you can see, I posted this using Flock… and it crashed just after publising it (lucky me… it was near…).



